SHAP (Shapley values) in Dataiku

Solved!
jxh
Level 2
SHAP (Shapley values) in Dataiku

I am still new to Dataiku and am learning about its capabilities and am wondering if there is a way to replicate the global interpretability of the SHAP algorithm in Dataiku. I am familiar with SHAP in Python and have used it to show the positive and negative relationships of predictors with the target variable across all of our data.

How can I replicate this interpretation in Dataiku? I see the ability to calculate Shapley values at the individual row level (Individual explanations tab) or calculate them in the Interactive scoring tab which shows the impact of changing a feature.

I want to be able to output an interpretation similar to a summary_plot of shap in Python that shows the impact on model output by feature overall across all data points to show which features are positively or negatively correlated with the target variable based on the SHAP value.

1 Solution
louisplt
Dataiker

Hello @jxh,

Be aware that Dataiku DSS doesn't use the package SHAP, but its own homemade algorithm to compute the Shapley values. This means you cannot output directly the summary plot you are used to with SHAP.

You can use the scoring recipe with the option "Compute individual explanations" to compute the Shapley values on all the input rows. Then to compute the feature importance you can average the absolute Shapley values per feature across the data (this is how feature importance is computed with the SHAP package).

Hope this helps

Louis

View solution in original post

8 Replies
CoreyS
Dataiker Alumni

Hi @jxh while you wait for a more complete response, I was wondering if you had the opportunity to look at this post: Interpretation of Shapley values in Dataiku 

I hope this helps!

Looking for more resources to help you use Dataiku effectively and upskill your knowledge? Check out these great resources: Dataiku Academy | Documentation | Knowledge Base