Please help Prepare simple multiplication Recipe-Automation

MARU
MARU Registered Posts: 9 ✭✭✭

Hi,

I'm a complete beginner and trying to do a simple automation after finishing core design trainings. I have raw file that comes monthly in the format below. There are five products below and I need to multiply each product(product will be in a text format) by their corresponding month in that row. Please see my example below(attached the file for reference as well)

Product A & M only: I want to multiply(*) that row for each month by 6

Product F: I want to multiply(*) that row for the months by 12

Product C 3M(30MG) & 3M(5MG): I want to multiply(*) that row by months by 3

For example: Product A: Jan-21-5*6, Feb 21-3*6, Mar-21-6*6...soo on. And I want this to be done when new months come in as well

ProductSTRJan-21Feb-21Mar-21Apr-21May-21Jun-21Jul-21Aug-21Sep-21Oct-21
A15 MG53643962
C20MG24595753
C 3M30MG48684343
C 3M5MG57658262
F11MG23386371
M5MG49547696

Answers

• tgb417
    tgb417 Dataiku DSS Core Designer, Dataiku DSS & SQL, Dataiku DSS ML Practitioner, Dataiku DSS Core Concepts, Neuron 2020, Neuron, Registered, Dataiku Frontrunner Awards 2021 Finalist, Neuron 2021, Neuron 2022, Frontrunner 2022 Finalist, Frontrunner 2022 Winner, Dataiku Frontrunner Awards 2021 Participant, Frontrunner 2022 Participant, Neuron 2023 Posts: 1,598 Neuron

@MARU

Welcome to the Dataiku Community

If I was tackling this data transformation, and wanted to do it in a visual prepare recipe. I might fold the data into a tall format.

https://doc.dataiku.com/dss/latest/preparation/processors/fold-columns-by-name.html?highlight=fold

And then do my math in a formula.

Then if I actually wanted the data back in Wide Format I'd likely unfold the data back to the original format.

https://doc.dataiku.com/dss/latest/preparation/processors/unfold.html?highlight=unfold