to run a python recipe targeting the containerized configuration and verify it is on GKE cluster

vinayaksatapute
Level 1
to run a python recipe targeting the containerized configuration and verify it is on GKE cluster

Dear Dataiku team,

I am new to Dataiku and currently trying to complete an assignment associated with DSS using GKE Cluster.

I have created a sample python recipe, which is accessing its dataset via GCS (where a .csv file is saved).

Python recipe is copying the input dataset to output and nothing else.

And also, I have created a GKE Cluster using the plugin at DSS. I can see that, GKE cluster is attached and running on my DSS instance. I can verify the GKE cluster using kubectl command list the nodes.

However, I am unable to figure out how do I run a python recipe targeting the containzerized configuration and make sure through logs it is running on the cluster.

I have scanned through the DSS documentation multiple times, but I am still clueless.

Please see, I can successfully deploy a container image using the below command and I can list the pods running the cluster using DSS instance.

kubectl create deployment hello-server \

--image=us-docker.pkg.dev/google-samples/containers/gke/hello-app:1.0

[vinayak_satapute@dss-instance-centos ~]$ kubectl get pods
NAME READY STATUS RESTARTS AGE
hello-server-5bd6b6875f-xtqxx 1/1 Running 0 7h7m

[vinayak_satapute@dss-instance-centos ~]$ kubectl get nodes
NAME STATUS ROLES AGE VERSION
gke-new-gke-cluster-node-pool-0-d41f81f9-0d5x Ready <none> 8d v1.22.8-gke.200
gke-new-gke-cluster-node-pool-0-d41f81f9-9s1c Ready <none> 8d v1.22.8-gke.200

Appreciate some kind inputs/guidance.

Thanks.

Operating system used: centos7

0 Kudos
4 Replies
AlexT
Dataiker

Hi @vinayaksatapute ,

The full list of steps is available here: https://doc.dataiku.com/dss/latest/containers/setup-k8s.html

From what you are describing you may still need to do the following steps:

1) First of making sure to build the base images