controlled vocabularies and data dictionaries

wormboy
Level 1
controlled vocabularies and data dictionaries

Forgive the newbie question. I am a data scientist, and I do a lot of curation, harmonization and ontology work on clinical datasets. A common, and time consuming, task involves coding or decoding data according to a data dictionary. Here is a short example. The sex and diagnosis variables in this dataset are encoded, and the dictionary provides the decoding information.

Variable / Field Name

Form Name

Section Header

Field Type

Field Label

Choices, Calculations, OR Slider Labels

subject_id

enrollment

text

Subject ID

enrollment_date

enrollment

text

Date of Enrollment

sex

enrollment

radio

Sex

1, Male | 2, Female

diagnosis

enrollment

radio

Diagnosis

1, Crohn's disease | 2, Ulcerative colitis | 3, Indeterminate colitis | 4, Control | 99, Unknown

If I import the associated dataset into DSS, it will apply a schema that is based on the coded values (Sex and Diagnosis columns will be assigned Meaning: Integer and have numeric values.) If I need to decode the data, I know I can do find&replace on a column-by-column basis using replace values extracted from this dictionary, but I routinely encounter datasets with thousands of variables, hundreds of which are coded by unique vocabularies. Is there a reasonable way decode a dataset and define the schema from such a dictionary? I can write a script that will do this, but then Dataiku isn't helping me save time on this task. I am brand spanking new to Dataiku, but I have spent a few hours noodling around in the documentation to no avail. Yet it seems like this should be a common enough use-case that there may be such a function built-in...

0 Kudos
4 Replies
SeanA
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi @wormboy , there are likely some visual processors that can help with this kind of task.