Question on automating folder with multiple files

Solved!
aw30
Level 4
Question on automating folder with multiple files

I am new to Dataiku and feel I am missing something as I cannot figure out how to do a simple automation when I have a number of files within a single S3 bucket, we are using Hadoop & Hive. Every day 6 new files are added and I want to grab the latest one and use it instead of the prior day's version. The naming convention is gid_date_filename. 

For example:

xxxx-06222020-users_export

xxxx-06222020-incidents_export

I thought I could set up a flow using one of each file that includes one step which is the sync recipe to adjust the name and sync to our hive metastore and then use scenarios to automate this. A trigger would be set up once a day to grab the most current file for each of the 6 distinct files.

I grabbed the latest file just to set up the flow so I have 6 datasets each having a step that syncs to our hive metastore creating 6 tables.

To automate this I thought I needed to create a dataset pointing to the entire folder instead of a single file. When I go to create a new dataset for the folder, for the S3 connection I choose HDFS_S3General and for Path in bucket I leave it as / . When I do this I get a warning that dataset at root of connection. This is atypical do you want to create a managed dataset?

How do I get started on getting this created as I know it can be done but I feel like I am just missing something basic. Thank you for your time and help in advance!!!

2 Solutions
Liev
Dataiker Alumni

Hi @aw30 

The setup you're proposing is possible in DSS, but it will involve using several concepts simultaneously. However, you can also break it down into different flow elements and consolidate once you're comfortable with the logic and how everything fits together.