Is it possible to get notified when a job exceeds a pre-determined duration

Solved!
wengkin_chew
Level 1
Is it possible to get notified when a job exceeds a pre-determined duration

Hi,

I was wondering if it is possible in Dataiku to get notified or emailed when a job exceeds a pre-determined duration.

For example I am a user administrator and I want to receive an email if there are jobs running for more than 1 hour.

Regards,

Weng Kin

0 Kudos
1 Solution
AlexT
Dataiker

Hi,
Not possible at the job level, but you can leverage the APIs and run a scenario to find long-running jobs and send emails.

https://doc.dataiku.com/dss/latest/python-api/jobs.html Here is an example you can use and modify as needed : 

import dataiku
import datetime
from dataiku.core.message_sender import MessageSender

client = dataiku.api_client()
projects = client.list_projects()

# e.g adjust here to find job in this example 4 hours or older and state still running
four_hour_ago = datetime.datetime.now() - datetime.timedelta(hours=4)
timestamp = int(four_hour_ago.timestamp() * 1000)
job_info_str = ""

for p in projects:
    pk = p["projectKey"]
    project = client.get_project(pk)
    jobs = project.list_jobs()
    running_job_list = [job for job in jobs if job['state'] == 'RUNNING' and job['def']['initiationTimestamp'] >= timestamp]
    if len(running_job_list) >=1: 
        job_info_str += p["projectKey"] + "\n" + "\n".join([str(job) for job in running_job_list]) + "\n"

print(job_info_str)
# Now send either one email for each long-running or create a list with the project key + job info from above.

s = MessageSender(channel_id='my-email-channel', type='mail-scenario', configuration={})
s.send(message=str(final_list), subject="test", recipient='recipient@domain.com', sender="abc@abc.com")

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
AlexT
Dataiker

Hi,
Not possible at the job level, but you can leverage the APIs and run a scenario to find long-running jobs and send emails.