Message "executing a query" keeps showing in SQL notebooks

Options
gnaldi62
gnaldi62 Partner, L2 Designer, Dataiku DSS Core Designer, Dataiku DSS & SQL, Dataiku DSS ML Practitioner, Dataiku DSS Core Concepts, Neuron, Dataiku DSS Adv Designer, Registered, Neuron 2022, Frontrunner 2022 Finalist, Frontrunner 2022 Winner, Frontrunner 2022 Participant, Neuron 2023 Posts: 79 Neuron

Hi all,

customers are asking why the "executing a query" message on a SQL notebook is showed even if there's no query executing. And indeed it's a rather annoying message, even if not an anomaly.

Please, advice. Best Regards.

Giuseppe

Answers

  • Sarina
    Sarina Dataiker, Dataiku DSS Core Designer, Dataiku DSS Adv Designer Posts: 315 Dataiker
    Options

    Hi @gnaldi62
    ,

    Would you mind attaching a screenshot of the full screen when the user sees the message you are referring to? I don't think i've quite been able to reproduce what you are describing so it would be helpful to take a look.

    Thank you,
    Sarina

  • gnaldi62
    gnaldi62 Partner, L2 Designer, Dataiku DSS Core Designer, Dataiku DSS & SQL, Dataiku DSS ML Practitioner, Dataiku DSS Core Concepts, Neuron, Dataiku DSS Adv Designer, Registered, Neuron 2022, Frontrunner 2022 Finalist, Frontrunner 2022 Winner, Frontrunner 2022 Participant, Neuron 2023 Posts: 79 Neuron
    Options

    Hi,

    here it is. And there is no running SQL query at all. Txs. Rgds.

    Giuseppe

  • Sarina
    Sarina Dataiker, Dataiku DSS Core Designer, Dataiku DSS Adv Designer Posts: 315 Dataiker
    Options

    Hi @gnaldi62
    ,

    Thank you for attaching the screenshot!The unexpected “Executing a query” message in the UI for a SQL notebook is generally due to a crash occurring while DSS was writing a transaction to its runtime DB. There isn't a way to remove this message from an existing notebook at this time, so the best workaround is probably to create a new SQL notebook, copy the queries over from the notebook that shows the message, and then delete the original notebook.

    If you ever see this re-occur in the future, you can certainly open a ticket with us and attach an instance diagnostic so that we can help determine the exact root cause.

    Thank you,
    Sarina

Setup Info
    Tags
      Help me…