Trigger a flow when variables are set

Solved!
MJL
Level 2
Trigger a flow when variables are set

I'm still quite new to Dataiku.

I have a project where I want the flow to run when two conditions are met.  The flow should run when the underlying data warehouse (which is refreshed nightly) has been refreshed (There is a table that reports the time when the refresh is complete) AND when one of the tables in the data warehouse has new records in it.

I've set up two SQL data change scenarios to detect those conditions.  I see that it is possible to create a variable in the step of the scenario.  What I think I'd like to do is create a third scenario that tests for the existence of those two variables.  I'm presuming that the trigger in the third scenario would be a custom (Python) trigger but I don't know what the syntax of the python code would look like i.e. what is the syntax of the statement that would reference the two variables.

Can someone help me?

Operating system used: Windows

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Turribeach

Hi, thank you for posting a more detailed update, it gives me an opportunity to comment on other things. Note that I used a CTE in the sQL but this could also be solved using UNION and a CASE statement. 

Query 1 is the perfect output for the SQL dataset change trigger as it has a date/time that will change when the ETL is complete. Therefore all you really need to do is to make sure you only return the new ExecutionEndInstant when there is new data in your second table. For that I would assume it's possible to see all the data loaded on DOMENICOROBBINS_OUTPUTS for a specific ETL load. You therefore can do something like this (this is pseudo code):

SELECT current ExecutionEndInstant
SELECT previous ExecutionEndInstant
SELECT count of rows loaded AS part of current ExecutionEndInstant
Final SELECT does a CASE statement as follows: