The python process died(killed - maybe out of memory ?) + how to change it to SQL instead

ShrimpMania
Level 1
The python process died(killed - maybe out of memory ?) + how to change it to SQL instead

I was trying to filter the datasets by using python inside DSS via Jupyter but then I noticed when there are datasets having many rows, it stops and shows the error. Meaning It runs one or two datasets and stop.

The python process died(killed - maybe out of memory ?)

I have some questions regarding this problem.

1. is there a way to filter 'CA' first and get the data frame so I can keep working in python? or if there's a better way. I'm quite new to dataiku.

2. How should I change it to SQL? will it be helpful to avoid getting the error? I found out in Dataiku the type is "sql_query" but then I don't know what to do next. I'm just getting errors saying like sqlqueryrecipecreator has no attribute(?).

import dataiku
client = dataiku.api_client()

project = client.get_project("my_project_key")

input_datasets = ["datast1","dataset2", ... "dataset122"]

for input_dataset_name in input_datasets:
    output_dataset_name = input_dataset_name + "CA_filtered"

builder = project.new_recipe("python")

builder.with_input(input_dataset_name)

builder.with_new_output_dataset(output_dataset_name, "connection_name")

builder.with_script(f"""
    import dataiku
    from dataiku import recipe
    input_dataset = recipe.get_inputs_as_datasets()[0]
    output_dataset = recipe.get_outputs_as_datasets()[0]

df = input_dataset.get_dataframe()
    df = df[df['CNTRY'] == 'CA']
    output_dataset.write_with_schema(df)
    """)

recipe = builder.create()
    job = recipe.run()

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Turribeach

What you need to do is to first do a visual Filter recipe and set the Engine as SQL (rather than DSS / Internal) which will run in SQL and will not attempt to load all that data in memory before the filter is applied. Then use that as input of your Python recipe. 

0 Kudos
ShrimpMania