How to train a classification model on an imbalanced dataset

Options
oksanab
oksanab Dataiku DSS & SQL, Dataiku DSS Core Concepts, Registered Posts: 2 ✭✭✭✭

I have an imbalanced dataset (most of instances are in Class-1, and only 1% of instances are labeled with Class-2). When i run my classification model (decision tree, logist regress) using ROC AUC as an accuracy measure, i receive an excellent accuracy score but very low Precision. This happens due to the imbalanced training set. How do you handle it in DataIku environment? I am new to dataiku, and still learning my ways around it.

Is there an option for SMOTE supervised filter?

Best Answer

Answers

• oksanab
    oksanab Dataiku DSS & SQL, Dataiku DSS Core Concepts, Registered Posts: 2 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Alex, thank you

• cwentz
    cwentz Dataiku DSS Core Concepts, Registered Posts: 33 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Hello @Alex_Combessie

I have a question regarding this post. How do I know if the rebalancing by Scikit-Learn is working?

I have a data set were the target is binary, 0 represents less than 8% and I would like to know that it is or is not working.

Thank you!!

• tgb417
    tgb417 Dataiku DSS Core Designer, Dataiku DSS & SQL, Dataiku DSS ML Practitioner, Dataiku DSS Core Concepts, Neuron 2020, Neuron, Registered, Dataiku Frontrunner Awards 2021 Finalist, Neuron 2021, Neuron 2022, Frontrunner 2022 Finalist, Frontrunner 2022 Winner, Dataiku Frontrunner Awards 2021 Participant, Frontrunner 2022 Participant, Neuron 2023 Posts: 1,595 Neuron
    Options

@oksanab

Good question.

@Alex_Combessie

I'm trying to understand a little bit more about what lies "under the covers" in DSS when you are doing these class rebalancing.

Does DSS use the class_weight parameter in scikit-learn to make this work?