Upload excel file monthly

MARU
Level 2
Upload excel file monthly

Hi

I have an excel file that comes in weekly and I saved it on my desktop.  I want to automate this where Dataiku picks up this file automatically when I get a new one.  I have looked everywhere but unable to find any information on it.  I'm a beginner and this would be super helpful to understand.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
VitaliyD
Dataiker

Hi,

Because it is on your desktop, and I assume DSS is hosted on some server somewhere, you won't be able to achieve this if you want to do it from the DSS (i mean, almost anything is possible with the right hardware/software setup, but I don't think it will make sense to do it this way in this case). Not DSS should be picking it. You should push it to DSS using the external DSS API. Please check our API documentation and check an example I created for your reference below. Please note you would need to install "pandas==1.0.5" and "openpyxl" and, of course, "dataiku" packages before you run the script. Also, the below script will create a dataset from your file, so most likely, you would need to modify it to suit your needs.

import dataiku
import pandas as pd

dataiku.set_remote_dss("http://localhost:19700/", "8MXFDEN9TUEI03DRM3RRNHW33EXJC47W") # update with your host and api key

client = dataiku.api_client()
dataiku.set_default_project_key("NOTEBOOKS")

project = client.get_default_project()

file_path = "/path/to/file.xlsx" # add path to your file

df = pd.read_excel(file_path, engine='openpyxl') #use temporary file

new_dataset_name = "pushed_file2" # here specify a new dataset name
builder = project.new_managed_dataset(new_dataset_name)
builder.with_store_into("filesystem_managed") # here specify the connection name you are want to use
dataset = builder.create()
output_dataset = dataiku.Dataset(new_dataset_name)
output_dataset.write_with_schema(df)