PySpark Setup via Dataiku: dkuspark.getdataframe() error

ewminner
Level 1
PySpark Setup via Dataiku: dkuspark.getdataframe() error

Hi All,

I'm just starting out on PySpark (and on Dataiku) and debugging via both Dataiku and PySpark documentation has been quite the challenge. But after a lot of searching, it seems my error may be more isolated to the Dataiku platform. So I want to convert a table from a Redshift/SQL server that I defined in my Dataiku workflow into a PySpark dataframe. Very simple right? Well...

All of these codes are conjured by default by clicking the PySpark recipe.

First importing:

"import pyspark
import dataiku
from dataiku import spark as dkuspark
from pyspark import SparkContext
from pyspark.sql import SQLContext"

Then I create the necessary context:

"sc = SparkContext.getOrCreate()
sqlContext = SQLContext(sc)"

Here is where the issue arises:

# Read recipe inputs
"some_table = dataiku.Dataset("some_table")

df = dkuspark.get_dataframe(sqlContext, some_table)"

After running this last "get_dataframe" method, Py4J now throws me the error:

An error occurred while calling o27.classForName. Trace:
py4j.Py4JException: Method classForName([class java.lang.String]) does not exist
	at py4j.reflection.ReflectionEngine.getMethod(ReflectionEngine.java:318)
	at py4j.reflection.ReflectionEngine.getMethod(ReflectionEngine.java:326)
	at py4j.Gateway.invoke(Gateway.java:274)
	at py4j.commands.AbstractCommand.invokeMethod(AbstractCommand.java:132)
	at py4j.commands.CallCommand.execute(CallCommand.java:79)
	at py4j.GatewayConnection.run(GatewayConnection.java:238)
	at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:748)

I spent a couple of hours here trying to understand what could have happened, and it appears that maybe PySpark is having some trouble reading in the column type? Or I'm not sure. I have no idea how this would translate to the Dataiku platform,  so any help would be tremendous. Thank you!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Clément_Stenac
Dataiker

Hi,