DSS on VirtualBox "failed to start"

Solved!
Dyl_M
Level 2
DSS on VirtualBox "failed to start"
Hello community,

I am a student and I discovered Dataiku very recently as part of a marketing project for the current semester. And I'm encountering some problems with the installation.

I work under Windows 10 with my laptop and desktop computer and I chose VirtualBox as my virtual machine to run DSS.

Unfortunately, I'm having a lot of trouble with my laptop and I don't know if it's a performance problem or an installation problem. Each time I start DSS under VirtualBox, the interface tells me that the startup has failed, as shown in the screenshots.

By searching a bit I saw that a user had encountered the same problem about 3 years ago, without having a convincing answer. Were other people able to solve this problem in the meantime?

I am of course fully prepared to collaborate with the people who could help me solve this problem by giving more information about my work configuration if necessary.

DSS_issues.jpg

DSS_issues2.jpg

0 Kudos
1 Solution
pbertin
Dataiker

Hi again

8GB memory should be enough to at least let the VM start properly in its default configuration, so based on your inputs I would indeed agree that the root cause of the problem might be the (lack of) performance of the HDD

I am not sure there is much more you can try here, apart waiting long enough for DSS to start (it might not be necessary to force a restart). Switching to a SSD-based environment would certainly help here if you can locate one near you. You could also get good results with small cloud instances, for which you might be able to find free initial credits.

Sorry for the less-than-satisfying initial experience - hope you can find a way to really discover and enjoy DSS.
Patrice, Dataiku

View solution in original post

8 Replies
MickaelH
Dataiker

Hi,

Have you checked the Prerequisites listed in:

?

If yes you can try to log into the VM console. To do that: