User Highlight - Tom

MichaelG
Community Manager
Community Manager
User Highlight - Tom

A community thrives on the basis of its great members - so let's take a look at some of them shall we? From time to time we will be highlighting a prominent member of the Community, and sharing their story and DSS accomplishments! Meet Tom - known here as @tgb417Tom is an active member of our Community here and we thought you all might want to get to know him a little better. To that end I sat down with Tom and had a chat about his story with Dataiku DSS.

How did you find Dataiku and get started with DSS?
I work in the cultural non-profit sector in the theater & museum communities as a data analyst and organizational change agent. In 2015/16 I realized that our competitors, for "human attention" (little organizations like Netflix, Facebook and others) make extensive use of data analytics & ML modeling to gain an edge on each other, and almost by accident, us in the non-profit arts and cultural community. As I investigated this phenomena, I could see how the techniques used by these organizations to build for example recommendation systems. Would be very helpful to a theater working with lesser known, avant-garde shows like the theater I worked for at the time. To that end I set out to find techniques and tools to use to accomplish this and other analytic and ML projects.