How to Perform Basic ML Training With Scikit-Learn, Docker, and Kubernetes

CoreyS
Dataiker Alumni
How to Perform Basic ML Training With Scikit-Learn, Docker, and Kubernetes

Originally posted by Dataiku on March 9th by @guscavanaugh 

If you’ve heard about Docker and Kubernetes but haven’t used them yourself, this is the tutorial for you. I’m not a rocket scientist — nor a scientist at all. In high school, I struggled so much with math; I had to stay after class, causing me to be perpetually late for football practice. And if you had seen me play football in those days, brother, you’d know, I really couldn’t afford to miss practice...

Anyway, for years I put off digging into Docker and Kubernetes. I knew they were popular tools and important for making data science portable and reproducible, but frankly, I was just intimidated. I’d start a tutorial or book with a ton of enthusiasm, but that would quickly fizzle. It wasn’t until I actually got my hands dirty and started using them that I felt more comfortable. 

So if that’s you, then today is the day you say, “Enough!” Today, you’ll train your first model on Kubernetes. We’ll take some basic code, throw it in a container, and run it on Kubernetes. It’s going to be a little ugly but very effective. It involves minimal theory, but is something that you can run in as little time as possible. And by the way, if you want to go even faster, I included some quick snippets at the end showing the same stuff in Dataiku.

As an aside, I recently read an excellent series by Luigi Petruno on his blog “ML In Production” and was specifically inspired by the article “Kubernetes Jobs for ML.” I highly recommend reading the entire series. 

So let’s start with a basic Python example. We’ll use some stock code from scikit-learn to train a model. We’ll then build a container around that code and run the container locally. Finally, we’ll run the container on a Kubernetes cluster.

What You Need