NYU Student - A New Perspective on the Status of Clinical Trials

Name: Lyndsey Miyakado

Organization: New York University

I discovered Dataiku in my last semester at NYU, supervised by Stavros Zervoudakis. During this time I was an intern at Scientist.com under Sherman Tang. I also worked closely with Eleftheria Pissadaki to gain knowledge on the pharmaceutical industry.

Awards Categories:

• Best Positive Impact Use Case

Business Challenge:

As an undergraduate student at NYU, I have learned how researchers use machine learning models for drug discovery. As an intern at Scientist.com, I was introduced to how AI powered tools can connect researchers and suppliers more efficiently.

The most time-consuming aspect of drug development is conducting clinical trials. Spanning over 10 years and costing billions. It could benefit investigators or sponsors to have a tool that could inform them of how successful a study is based on past and existing studies. For example, while reviewing past diabetes clinical trials, we examined the enrollment size, phase, title, summary, condition, start month, start year, and sponsor.

A dataset compiled by Aero Data Lab, was used in combination with Dataiku to offer a new perspective for how we examine a disease in the clinical research process. If majority of the clinical trials did not complete phase 3, it could point out how the design of a study is not evolving. For decades, pharmaceutical companies have been using the same processes, contributing to the difficulty in navigating through the maze of data in the clinical trial data life cycle. Some sponsors elect not to invest in a type of trial if it is repeatedly terminated.