How to develop a webapp interface?

Solved!
PK
Level 2
How to develop a webapp interface?

I am basically a data scientist but not good at developing APIs, Webapps . I would like to develop an interface that accepts text which I want to convert into a Dataiku dataset to feed to a ML model for scoring. I would then like to display the prediction on the same interface. How do I get started with this ? Thanks !

2 Solutions
VinceDS
Dataiker

Hi, 

Conceptually, you have 2 ways of going about this type of task - essentially real-time scoring of user input.

1) "Lightweight" scoring 

You can train a model using the DSS visual modeling features. Once your model is trained, you will need to develop a webapp (in python for instance) that creates a field for user input and then uses the DSS REST API to interact with your saved model, retrieve the predictor and score the user input.

> info on interacting with saved models, tutorial on creating your first python webapp

2) Production-level scoring

Within the scope of the DSS platform, we provide Entreprise-grade model deployment features, including deploying and managing API endpoints for real-time scoring. In this case, your webapp will not use the internal REST API to call your model endpoint but will send a http request with the user input to the API endpoint, score the payload with the model and retrieve the score. This is the more scalable, governed and secure way of making model predictions available to users, but requires and Entreprise licence.

> tutorial on deploying ML models on API endpoints

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

PK
Level 2
Author

Hi,