How to filter rows of current month

prabhakaran808
Level 2
How to filter rows of current month

Hi 

I am a beginner. I want to use the prepare recipe to filter the "Data Period" Column. My expectation is to filter only the current month data. Here i am expecting the output to show only the 3rd and 4th row. Please enlighten me on how to achieve this.

NameCountryOrder IDData PeriodReporting Period
JacobUS34123430-Sep-202130-Oct-2021
JohnUK12341330-Oct-202130-Nov-2021
MattIN23423430-Nov-202130-Dec-2021
ScottIN45342330-Nov-2021 30-Dec-2021
Operating system used: Windows
0 Kudos
4 Replies
emate
Level 5

Hi @prabhakaran808 

If you want to do this kind of manually, I think you can just simply use "Filter rows/cells with formula" for example - but this will require to change current month every time this month change.

If you want to automate this process you could use "max date" column if you have one, or you can create it yourself, for example starting with groupby or maybe creating index column that will help you identify what is the current month (having max_date or fixed index where for example most up do date month will get 0 for example, will allow you again to filter /remove rows that are not matching with max date)

Hope this helps,

Mateusz

0 Kudos
prabhakaran808
Level 2
Author

Hi Mateusz,

Thanks for the response. May you please help to elaborate how to create max_date column to identify the current month. Appreciate if you could share some screenshots of possible for better understanding. My apologies if i am asking a laymen question.

Thanks

0 Kudos
emate
Level 5

Hi again,

To be honest, I am sure I've done this earlier already much easier, but I forgot how and I can't look it up.

Anyway could you try Window Recipe ? you can use "Rank" option, the only thing is that you might be forced to change your date format.

Mateusz

0 Kudos
tgb417

@prabhakaran808 

Welcome to the Dataiku community.