Dataiku Installation on Oracle cloud Ubuntu instance

pallabtableau
Level 2
Dataiku Installation on Oracle cloud Ubuntu instance

Hi,

I have installed DSS on the Oracle Cloud Ubuntu 20.04 LTS instance. The installation was successful, but I cannot access the DSS start page by using the public IP address and the port number used for the installation. I have already started DSS by using the start command, the VM is also running, but I am unable to access the DSS home page. I have attached 3 screenshots showing the:

1. VM instance page from Oracle Cloud, the screenshot of my terminal
  2. Chrome page showing refused to connect
  3. Terminal page showing how I have started the DSS

Has anyone tried this before and faced a similar issue? I am a beginner in cloud instance and VM management, hence, not being able to debug the issue myself. Any help is much appreciated. Many Thanks.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
VitaliyD
Dataiker

Hi @pallabtableau ,

The browser message 'Connection Refused' has two main causes:

1. Nothing is listening on the IP:Port you are trying to connect to. 
  2. A firewall blocks the port.

As DSS installed and started successfully and assuming you are not using a proxy, I will suspect that either the server firewall (if installed) or the cloud provider firewall blocks the port.

To test this, you can use curl or telnet commands:

curl -v ip:port
telnet ip port

or create the SSH tunnel on port 11000 and try to access the DSS using localhost:11000 URL:

ssh -L 11000:localhost:11000 user@host

If the curl or telnet tests are unsuccessful or if you used SSH tunnelling and can access DSS using localhost:11000 URL, that means the port is blocked, and you will need to open the port in the firewall before you are able to access DSS using ip:port URL

Hope this helps.

Best Regards,

Vitaliy

0 Kudos
pallabtableau
Level 2
Author

Hi @VitaliyD ,

Many thanks for your reply. I tried the curl command to the same public IP and 11000 port, and below is the output: