Data type autodetected even after explicitly changed

maryas
Level 2
Data type autodetected even after explicitly changed

Hello community,

I'm quite new to Dataiku. I have a huge disappointment when I see the predicted data after the modelling under visual analysis has auto detected data types and not the ones which I have explicitly changed, Does that mean model is trained on the data types auto detected and not as per the data types manually given ? Could you please clarify my doubt ?

0 Kudos
8 Replies
tgb417

@maryas ,

+1, I've had similar experiences.  (Which frankly, I've not reported to date. Partially thinking that maybe I'm doing something wrong.)

I'm wondering how we can better share these type of scenarios with the support team.  Have you shared a support ticket detailing the specific example you are seeing?  I'm thinking that this might help all of us.

--Tom
0 Kudos
Krishna
Dataiker

Thank you @maryas@tgb417 , for sharing this.

I am pleased to report that the input types you have explicitly set, and the feature processing options you may have selected, are adhered to when training & scoring your model however your observation is correct, it is possible that the "predicted data" displays different types, as some complex types (e.g. map) undergo transformation during processing.

As we are currently investigating how we can improve this, it would be great if you could share the data types which you noticed as not being preserved as expected.

0 Kudos
maryas
Level 2
Author

Hello Krishna,

PFA 2 images 1) for the data having data types explicitly changed and 2) data types being auto-detected after prediction in the Labs. Mostly all of the Boolean values get auto-detected. But there were scenarios where data types were auto detected as integers though they had been explicitly changed to Booleans. But I have noticed this happens not only in the Lab but also in the Flow after scoring or evaluation recipe as well.

Regards !

0 Kudos
Krishna
Dataiker