How to read in and view an image (basic)

kman88
Level 2
How to read in and view an image (basic)

Hello, I am brand new to Dataiku. I will be working with imaging data in the Nifti format. I would like to start by making a very simple Dataiku workflow. So far I have my image, let's called it "a.nii.gz" uploaded to the workflow. The first thing I would like to do is read in this file into python and say either print out the content of it, or perhaps make an image (through matplotlib.pyplot). When I link a python script to the data set "a.nii.gz" it automatically creates a python template for me. When I run the template I get an error, which isn't surprising at all given how I'm not sure what I'm doing. Within the template I get this line:

# Read recipe inputs
a = dataiku.Dataset("a")
a_df = a.get_dataframe()

However the data is not a dataframe, it's a nifti .nii.gz file. This can be read in via a line like

img = nib.load('a.nii.gz')

I tried commenting out the lines pertaining to the dataframe, however I then get errors that these lines are missing. It seems, understandably, that Dataiku is built around processing dataframe data. However my data is not immediately in dataframe format, and I would prefer to avoid it if at all possible. Is there a way to load in data that's essentially of an unknown format which will be later converted via a python script? Or am I going about this the wrong way?

2 Replies
SarinaS
Dataiker

Hi @kman88 ,

Thank you for your detailed steps and description of your setup! And always useful to start with a small test setup initially.  

For the situation you describe, where you are reading in "non-dataframe" data, I would suggest creating a managed folder instead, to house or point to your image files. 

Here's an example.  From the flow, you can click on + Dataset > Folder to create a new managed folder:

Screen Shot 2021-04-02 at 11.28.29 AM.png

Just for testing, you can simply upload a file like "a.ii.gz":