Classification error : Ended up with only one class in the test set. Cannot proceed

Solved!
taloh90
Level 2
Classification error : Ended up with only one class in the test set. Cannot proceed

Hello,

I encountered an error when I started training my classification models. The error is: Ended up with only one class in the test set. Cannot proceed

I have an unbalanced dataset and I would like to proceed with a classification to do comparative analysis. I have already split my dataset manually 70% for training and 30% for testing. In the design of my model, I chose them by putting a policy : Explicit extracs from two datasets.

If I understand correctly, it's a cross-validation error in the hyperparameters. I have to make a custom code to solve my problem like making Leave One Out? Or there is another solution? Because I have a very basic knowledge of python, I confess.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
AlexandreL
Dataiker

Hi,

The issue here seems to be that your dataset is so imbalanced that one of the folds contains only observations from one class.  Could you please tell me what's your positive class proportion ? Before going to python code you can try the following options:

- shuffle your dataset to make sure your positive observations are evenly distributed in the dataset (you can use a sort recipe, with a pre-computed random column, the formula is just rand(), then you can sort by this column)

- use less folds for your cross validations

Hoping this could solve your issue,

Alex

View solution in original post

2 Replies
AlexandreL
Dataiker

Hi,

The issue here seems to be that your dataset is so imbalanced that one of the folds contains only observations from one class.  Could you please tell me what's your positive class proportion ? Before going to python code you can try the following options: