Logistic Regression

cwentz
Level 3
Logistic Regression

Hello all, 

I posted a question in the community and Maureen responded, but then left me with more questions as I was confused, but she has not been able to respond again and I was hoping someone here could elaborate for me. 

Here is my question: 

Thank you @MaureenP. I appreciate your explanation. I have not heard of the Log of the Odds ratio before. I presume that this number is similar, in that a variables log of the Odds Ration if positive, is the % of the increase in the likelihood of 1 or True and a negative is the % decrease in the likelihood of 1 or True.

In the attached example, does it read that there is a 60% increased likelihood in retention for that variable and a 30% decreased likelihood in retention for the next variable.

Here is the link to the my reply to her https://community.dataiku.com/t5/Using-Dataiku-DSS/Logistic-regression-output/m-p/12756#M5658

Thank you so much for any help. I am still learning the differences between Dataiku and SPSS/Excel.

Screen Shot 2021-01-06 at 3.35.50 PM.png

โ€ƒ

0 Kudos
3 Replies
MehdiH
Dataiker

Hi @cwentz ,

Thank you for reaching out.

The screenshot that you sent looks like the regression coefficients tab.

Logisitic regression coefficients are a bit tricky to interpret. I'll try to give a simple explanation. In order to understand the log of the odds, let us first define the relation between the probability and the odds:

The odds (in favor) of an event or a proposition is the ratio of the probability that the event will happen to the probability that the event will not happen

For example, the odds that a day in the week is a weekend day are 2:5, where 2 is the number of weekend days and 5 is the others. This can be translated in terms of probability to 2 / (2 + 5) = 2 / 7. In general if the odds ratio is S:F and the probability is p, we have: p = S / (S + F) or S/F = p / (1-p)