Name:
Makoto Miyazaki

Title:
Data Scientist

France

Organization:
Dataiku

Description:
Dataiku is the world’s leading AI and machine learning platform, supporting agility in organizations’ data efforts via collaborative, elastic, and responsible AI, all at enterprise scale. Hundreds of companies use Dataiku to underpin their essential business operations and ensure they stay relevant in a changing world.

Awards Categories:

• Alan Tuning

Challenge:

Sakura, the world-famous cherry blossom in Japan, happens every year in the spring. It is a world-renowned attraction, and many people travel from far to witness its wonders. However, sakura blooms only for a short period of time: seven days after the flowers open, they already start to scatter, so many people simply miss it. As I’m a Data Scientist at Dataiku, I took it as a challenge to build a prediction model for the bloom of Sakura using Dataiku DSS - and see if I could obtain more accurate predictions than other websites!

Solution:

Dataiku enabled me to automatically update the prediction on a daily basis, thanks to the scenario automation feature of Dataiku DSS: 

Screenshot 2021-03-15 at 20.11.16.png

Everyday at 2 a.m., a Python recipe scraped the weather information in the three cities from the previous day and updated the predictions like the chart below: 

Screenshot 2021-03-15 at 19.57.35.png

The two other main forecasting websites, tenki.jp and Japan Weather Association (JWA) respectively updated their prediction once a week and every two weeks. Daily updates are a big plus to gather more accurate forecasts on a precise blooming day!

My Dataiku DSS flow can be seen below:

Screenshot 2021-03-15 at 15.28.10.png

It consists of two zones: data pre-processing and machine learning:

Data preprocessing

Screenshot 2021-03-15 at 15.28.29.png