Columbia University - Creating a Data Science Module That Fosters Upskilling and Professional Opportunities for Finance Students

Name: Perry Beaumont, PhD

Title: Lecturer, Columbia University

Organization: Columbia University, School of Professional Studies

Columbia University's School of Professional Studies is committed to providing diverse, innovative programs to enable students to succeed in their educational and professional development.

Awards Categories:

• Excellence in Teaching

Business Challenge:

As a university lecturer, I encountered the challenge of sourcing real-world data in combination with enterprise platforms to help students bridge textbook learning with hands-on applications. At about the same time that I decided to simply create my own lesson plans in this regard, I was contacted by the university publisher Cognella to create resources inclusive of an online text that would provide precisely what I perceived to be a gap in learning resources.

As a result, I committed to working with Cognella to write a book (available in hard copy, and online) that would present case studies in data science, titled "Business Case Studies in Applied Data Science: Supply Chains, eCommerce, and Consumer Lending".