Connect with others in Higher Education

cwentz
Level 3
Connect with others in Higher Education

Hello everyone,

My name is Christy L. Wentz and I am a analyst at a liberal arts college in central NY. I am looking to connect with others who have experience using Dataiku. I would like to know how you are using higher ed. data in this platform.

Thank you,

Christy L. 

6 Replies
tgb417

@cwentz ,

welcome to the Dataiku community.  I work in the nonprofit sector, and have taught in Higher Ed in the past.  Which side of the organization are you interested in using Dataiku DSS?  On the academic teaching side, helping students build data science skills?  Or more on the business side? Or more on the fundraising side? Or on the marketing and student retention side? 

In the work Iโ€™ve done in the Non-Profit sector.  Iโ€™ve done things like Churn Modeling on memberships.  Some attendance forecasting in a museum context, and some audience member clustering.  I would think that all of these and more would be useful in a college situation.  

--Tom
cinderUARK
Level 2

@cwentz ,

Tom asked a very good question. Depends on the level of your students and the applications you're interested in. I teach financial data analysis with Dataiku and found that data cleaning/manipulation, classification and textual analysis can be helpful. It was challenging for the finance students. So you may want to slow it down a bit.

cwentz
Level 3
Author

Hello Tom @tgb417 @cinderUARK ,